Svante Arrhenius Facts

Svante Arrhenius Facts
Svante August Arrhenius (February 19, 1859 to October 2, 1927) was a Swedish scientist and one of the founders of the science of physical chemistry. He received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1903 "in recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered to the advancement of chemistry by his electrolytic theory of dissociation."
Interesting Svante Arrhenius Facts:
Svante Arrhenius was born in Vik, Sweden where his father was a land surveyor for the University of Uppsala.
He was educated at the Cathedral school where he became interested in mathematics and physics.
In 1876 he the University of Uppsala to study mathematics, physics and chemistry.
In 1881 he moved to Stockholm to work at the Academy of Sciences.
In 1884 he wrote his thesis titled Investigations on the galvanic conductivity of electrolytes.
He had discovered that when electrolytes were dissolved in water they split into positive and negative ions.
The ions carried electric current and had chemical activity.
The value of his work was clear and it earned him a docentship at the University of Uppsala.
From 1886 to 1888 he worked with noted physicists on a travelling fellowship from the Academy of Sciences.
His research during these years proved that electrolytic dissociation caused the lowering of the freezing point and the increase of the boiling point of electrolytic solutions.
He went on the study the effect of electrolytic dissociation on toxins and antitoxins, and its role in digestion.
In 1891 he became a lecturer in physics at Hogskola in Stockholm and in 1895 became the Professor of Physics.
In 1905 he started the Nobel Institute for Physical Chemistry.
In 1900 he published the Textbook of theoretical electrochemistry.
He developed the theory of the importance of the carbon dioxide content of the atmosphere and its implications for climate.
He studied the Aurora Borealis and in 1903 published his Textbook of cosmic physics.
He was elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Society in 1911 and received the Davy Medal.
In 1914 he was awarded the Faraday Medal of the Chemical Society.

Related Links:
Scientists Facts
Animals Facts