Peter Debye Facts

Peter Debye Facts
Peter Joseph William Debye ForMemRS (March 24, 1884 to November 2, 1966) was an American physicist and physical chemist. He developed equations relating dipole moments to temperature and dielectric constant and the units of molecular dipole moments are called debyes in his honor. He was awarded the 1936 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for "his contributions to the study of molecular structure."
Interesting Peter Debye Facts:
Petrus Josephus Wilhelmus Debije was born in Maastricht, Netherlands.
In 1901 he entered the Aachen University of Technology, in Prussia where he studied mathematics and classical physics.
In 1905 he earned a degree in electrical engineering.
His first scientific paper was published in 1907 and was a solution to a problem of eddy currents.
In 1906 his mentor, Arnold Sommerfeld, was appointed to Munich and he took Debye as his assistant.
In 1908 Debye earned his PhD with a dissertation on radiation pressure.
In 1910 he published the Planck radiation formula using a simpler method that Planck agreed was simpler and many of his important contributions to the field of physics were improvements or extensions of theories in physics.
In 1911 he took the professorship at the University of Zurich that Albert Einstein had vacated when he was appointed to Prague.
In 1912 he added to Albert Einstein's theory of specific heat by including phonons which lowered temperatures.
In 1913 he improved on Niels Bohr's theory of atomic structure by introducing elliptical orbits.
In 1914 he collaborated with Paul Scherrer and calculated the effect of temperature on X-ray diffraction patterns in crystalline solids.
Between 1936 and 1939 he was the director of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Physics.
In 1939 he lectured at Cornell University and from 1940 to 1952 was a professor and head of the chemistry department there.
His work at Cornell was on the use of light-scattering techniques on polymer molecules.
Among his many honors are the Lorentz Medal (1935), the Franklin Medal (1937), the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1936), the Priestley Medal (1963) and the National Medal of Science (1965).
In 1946 he became an American citizen.

Related Links:
Scientists Facts
Animals Facts