Virginia Woolf Facts

Virginia Woolf Facts
Virginia Woolf was a British novelist, critic, essayist and publisher, best known for the novels Mrs. Dalloway, To the Lighthouse, and the essay A Room of One's Own. She was born Adeline Virginia Stephen on January 25th, 1882 in Kensington, Middlesex, England to Sir Leslie Stephen, a historian, author, and critic, and Julia Prinsep Duckworth, a model. Because both of her parents had children from previous marriages there were several children in her home growing up. Virginia was homeschooled by her parents. Her brothers were sent to Cambridge, which Virginia resented as she got older.
Interesting Virginia Woolf Facts:
Virginia had several half-brothers and half-sisters including Herbert, George, Stella, Laura. Her parents had four children of their own including Vanessa, Thoby, Adrian and Virginia herself.
Virginia's mother died when she was 13, and her sister two years after that, leading to the first of her nervous breakdowns.
Virginia began to write professionally in 1900. Her first work was for the Times Literary Supplement.
When her father died in 1904 Virginia was institutionalized briefly due to her emotional state.
After her father's death Virginia got to know the writers who formed the Bloomsbury Group.
Virginia married Leonard Woolf on August 10th, 1912. He was not wealthy but together they founded the Hogarth Press, which would be Virginia's publisher.
Virginia Woolf's first published novel was The Voyage Out, in 1915. Her half-brother's imprint, called Gerald Duckworth and Company Ltd. published the novel.
Virginia Woolf's novels include The Voyage Out (1915), Night and Day (1919), Jacob's Room (1922), Mrs. Dalloway (1925), To the Lighthouse (1927), Orlando (1928), The Waves (1931), The Years (1937), and Between the Acts (1941).
Virginia Woolf's short story collections include Kew Gardens (1919), Monday or Tuesday (1921), A Haunted House and Other Short Stories (1944), Mrs. Dalloway's Party (1973), The Complete Shorter Fiction (1985), and Carlyle's House and Other Sketches (2003).
Virginia Woolf also published three biographies including Orlando: A Biography, Flush: A Biography, and Roger Fry: A Biography.
Virginia Woolf published several non-fiction books including Modern Fiction, The Common Reader, A Room of One's Own, On Being Ill, The London Scene, The Common Reader: Second Series, Three Guineas, The Death of the Moth and Other Essays, The Moment and Other Essays, The Captain's Death Bed and Other Essays, Granite and Rainbow, Books and Portraits, Women and Writing, and Collected Essays, in four volumes.
Virginia Woolf published several autobiographical works and diaries about her life.
Virginia Woolf suffered from depression and mood swings, and it was also believed she was bipolar, and at the age of 59, in 1941, she committed suicide.
Virginia walked into the River Ouse with a pocket full of rocks and drowned.
A 1998 book titled The Hours, written by Michael Cunningham, won a Pulitzer Prize. It was a book written about three different generations of three different women affected by Virginia Woolf's novel Mrs. Dalloway. It went on to become the movie which was also titled The Hours. Nicole Kidman, who played Virginia, won the 2002 Oscar for her role.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes