Cormac McCarthy Facts

Cormac McCarthy Facts
Cormac McCarthy is an American award-winning writer best known for his novels All the Pretty Horses and No Country for Old Men. He was born Charles McCarthy Jr. on July 20th, 1933 in Providence, Rhode Island. He was the oldest son of six children born to Charles Joseph McCarthy and Gladys Christina McGrail McCarthy. His family relocated to Knoxville, Tennessee in 1937, and after graduating from high school, Cormac attended the University of Tennessee, studying liberal arts, until he quit in 1953 to serve in the U.S. Air Force. In 1957 Cormac returned to the University of Tennessee and began to write. Cormac won the Ingram-Merrill Award for creative writing in 1959 and in 1960, while still a student.
Interesting Cormac McCarthy Facts:
Charles McCarthy changed his name to Cormac McCarthy. Cormac means 'son of Charles'.
While serving in the Air Force Cormac spent two years in Alaska where he worked as a radio show host.
In the early 1960s Cormac McCarthy had begun writing his first novel. He lived in Chicago at the time, and married Lee Holleman, a student he had met while in university. Their marriage lasted only a year but they had a son together named Cullen McCarthy.
Cormac McCarthy's first novel titled The Orchard Keeper was published in 1965. He won the William Faulkner Award for this novel, despite the fact that it had received mixed reviews.
Cormac McCarthy was granted a traveling fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and went to Europe, where he remained for a few years. During this trip he met his second wife Anne DeLisle, whom he married in 1967.
A year after McCarthy and his new wife returned to the United States he published his next novel Outer Dark.
Cormac McCarthy's next two novels Child of God (1974), and Suttree (1979) helped establish his literary reputation.
In 1981 Cormac and his second wife divorced. He married again, to Jennifer Winkley. They had one child John McCarthy in 1998, before divorcing in 2006.
Cormac McCarthy wrote several more novels including Blood Meridian or the Evening Redness in the West (1985), All the Pretty Horses (1992), The Crossing (1994), Cities of the Plain (1998), No Country for Old Men (2005), The Road (2006), and The Passenger, which is unpublished.
Cormac McCarthy has written screenplays including The Gardener's Son (1976), The Sunset Limited (2011), and The Counselor (2013).
Cormac McCarthy has written and published two plays including The Stonemason (1995), and The Sunset Unlimited (2006).
Several of Cormac McCarthy's novels have been adapted to film including All the Pretty Horses (2000), No Country for Old Men (2007), The Road (2009).
Cormac McCarthy has won a variety of awards including the 1969 Guggenheim Fellowship, the 1981 MacArthur Fellowship, the 1992 National Book Award for Fiction, the 1996 and 2000 IMPAC Awards, the 2006 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction, the 2007 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, the 2008 Maltese Falcon Award, and the 2008 PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction.
The film version of No Country for Old Men won four Academy Awards.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes