Anaïs Nin Facts

Anaïs Nin Facts
Anaïs Nin was a Paris-born author of diaries, novels, short stories, and erotic fiction. She was born Angela Anaïs Juana Antolina Rosa Edelmira Nin y Culmell on February 21st, 1903 in Paris, to Joaquin Nin, A Cuban composer and pianist, and Rosa Culmell, a Cuban singer. Anaïs Nin was raised in Europe until her parents separated and her mother took her and her brothers to Barcelona and then New York City. Anaïs Nin quit formal schooling at the age of 16, and worked as an artists' model before heading to Cuba where she married Hugh Parker Guiler in 1923. They moved to Paris a year later where Anaïs began to pursue her writing career.
Interesting Anaïs Nin Facts:
According to Anaïs Nin's diaries she was trained as a flamenco dancer while living in Paris in the 1920s.
Anaïs Nin's first published work was titled D.H. Lawrence: An Unprofessional Study. She wrote the book in only 16 days, and it was published in 1932 by Edward W. Titus in Paris. At the time many critics were turning away from D.H. Lawrence and Anaïs Nin praised his work in her book. Her book was well received.
Anaïs Nin's books House of Incest and Winter of Artifice were published in the 1930s while she was living in Paris.
Anaïs Nin and her husband left Paris for New York in 1939 because of the approaching World War II.
Anaïs Nin's first husband did not want to be mentioned in her diaries, but she did mention Henry Miller (the famous writer whose work was banned in the U.S. until 1962), whom she had an affair with while in Paris.
Anaïs Nin wrote Under a Glass Bell in 1944. She published the book under her own imprint Gemor Press. Some believe that this book, a collection of short stories, was her finest work.
When she was 44 in 1947, Anaïs Nin met Rupert Pole, a former actor, on an elevator in Manhattan. She later married Rupert (in 1955) despite the fact that she was already married. The new couple lived together in California and her first husband ignored the marriage.
In 1959 Anaïs Nin's five volumes of Cities of the Interior was published. The five volumes include Ladders to Fire, Children of the Albatross, The Four-Chambered Heart, A Spy in the House of Love, and Seduction of the Minotaur.
In 1966 Anaïs Nin annulled her second marriage over tax issues.
Anaïs Nin went on to write several more books, volumes, and journals including Delta of Venus, Little Birds, Collages, The Early Diary of Anaïs Nin, The Diary of Anaïs Nin, The Novel of the Future, In Favor of the Sensitive Man, The Restless Spirit: Journal of a Gemini, A Literate Passion: Letters of Anaïs Nin & Henry Miller, Henry and June: From a Journal of Love, and several more titles.
In 1990 a film titled Henry and June was made, based on Anaïs Nin's book of the same name.
Anaïs Nin was one of the first female erotica writers.
In 1973 the Philadelphia College of Art gave Anaïs Nin an honorary doctorate.
In 1974 Anaïs Nin was elected to the U.S. National Institute of Arts and Letters.
Anaïs Nin died on January 14th, 1977, at the age of 73, in Los Angeles, California. She had been diagnosed with cancer three years earlier.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes