Baboon Facts

Baboon Facts
Baboon is a type of monkey that can be found in Africa and Arabia. There are five species of baboons. They can survive in different habitats: tropical rainforests, savannas, open woodlands and semi-arid areas. Baboons eat various crops which is the reason they are known as pests. Other than conflicts with humans, baboons are threatened by habitat loss. Out of five species, one species is listed as nearly threatened (it can become endangered in the near future).
Interesting Baboon Facts:
Male baboons are two times larger than females. Baboons can reach 14 to 30 inches in height at the shoulder and 50 to 100 pounds in weight.
Body of baboon is covered with fur that can be dark olive or yellow in color. Males and females look alike, except that females do not have long hair around their necks.
Baboons have long, dog-like muzzle and strong jaw equipped with sharp canines.
Unlike primitive monkeys, baboons do not have prehensile tails that can be used as an extra limb in the treetops.
Baboons are mainly terrestrial animals (live on the ground). They travel large distances in the early morning and late afternoon in the search for food.
Baboons will eat any type of food that is available at the moment (opportunistic feeders). Majority of their diet consists of fruit, seed, berries, roots, tree bark, tree sap and various insects, shellfish, fish, birds and small mammals.
Baboons live in groups called troops. They consist of 7-8 males, twice as many females and their offspring. Dominance in the troop is established via fights.
There is certain hierarchy among females in the group also. Females are in charge for accepting or rejecting newcomers (young, sexually mature males) to the group.
Baboons use 30 different sounds for communication. They are able to grunt, scream and bark. Besides vocalization, baboons can yawn, smack their lips or shrug their shoulder to communicate.
Social bonds between members of the group are established via grooming. Baboons spend hottest part of the day in careful removal of ticks and other pests from the fur of other members of the group.
Baboons are territorial animals that will aggressively defend their territory and family against other baboons and predators.
Main predators of baboons are large cats (lions, hyenas, leopards, wild dogs, cheetahs), eagles, crocodiles and pythons.
Baboons can mate throughout the whole year. Pregnancy lasts 6 months and ends with one baby. Mother will carry her baby close to her stomach when she is on the move. After several weeks, baby is strong enough to start riding on the mother's back.
Baboons reach sexual maturity between the age 5 and 8. Young males leave their native groups, while females stay.
Baboons can survive up to 30 years in the wild and up to 45 years in captivity.

Related Links:
Animal Facts
Animals Facts