Southern Colonies Facts

Southern Colonies Facts
The Southern Colonies included Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. The Southern Colonies were dominated by a desire to make money in the new American marketplace, which led to the development of large plantations and an agriculturally-focused society. Much of the labor on the farms and plantations was done by slaves brought over from Africa. The Georgia Colony was the last of the 13 to be established. It was meant to act as a barrier between the Spanish in Florida and South Carolina. Georgia also served as a refuge for the poor debtors in 1732. The Southern Colonies were very different than the New England Colonies to the north that had become more cosmopolitan and refined.
Interesting Southern Colonies Facts:
Maryland was founded in 1633 by Lord Baltimore, among others.
Virginia was founded in 1607 by John Smith at Jamestown.
North Carolina was founded in 1653 by Virginian Colonists.
South Carolina was founded in 1663 by English Colonists.
Georgia was founded in 1732 by James Oglethorpe.
Maryland was named for Queen Henrietta Maria of England.
Virginia was named for Elizabeth I, England's so-called 'Virgin Queen'.
North Carolina and South Carolina were named for Charles I of England. 'Carolus' is Latin for Charles, from which Carolina is derived.
Georgia is named for King George II.
Major industry in Maryland was manufacturing of iron and shipbuilding, and agriculture.
Major industry in Virginia was plantation crops including wheat, corn, and tobacco.
North Carolina's agriculture focused on plantations of tobacco, rice, and indigo (purple dye). Industry in South Carolina focused on plantations of cattle, cotton, tobacco, rice, and indigo.
Georgia's agriculture included sugar, rice, and indigo.
Major towns in Maryland Colony included Baltimore and Annapolis. Major towns in Virginia Colony included Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Richmond. Raleigh was North Carolina's major town and Charleston was South Carolina's major town. Georgia Colony's major town was Savannah.
Plantations were often so large that families were separated by hundreds of miles, and workers or slaves often lived in housing on the plantations.
Laborers in the Southern Colonies were often either slaves or indentured servants. Indentured servants were immigrants from England that agreed to work off their debt (cost of moving to America) by working on the plantation for so many years.
Settlers who could not afford the plantation lifestyle moved inland - which was more dangerous due to wildlife and the Indians whose land was being taken away as settlers took over. They often built forts for protection.
Plantations were often made up of a home, a dairy, a kitchen, stables, cabins, barns, a smokehouse, carpenter and brick-maker shops, and sometimes schools for the children.
Maryland Colony, Virginia Colony, South Carolina and George Colony became states in 1788, and North Carolina became a state in 1789.
Men important to the time and development of the future United State who came from the Southern Colonies included George Rogers Clark, Thomas Sumter, Francis Marion, Patrick Henry, Charles Lee, Thomas Jefferson, and George Washington.
Georgia signed the Declaration of Independence against Britain in 1776.

Related Links:
13 Colonies Facts
Animals Facts
Georgia Colony Facts
North Carolina Colony Facts
Virginia Colony Facts
South Carolina Colony Facts
Maryland Colony Facts
13 Colonies Facts
New England Colonies Facts
13 Colonies Facts for Kids
New Hampshire Colony Facts