BET Awards Facts

BET Awards Facts
The BET Awards were established to celebrate the achievements of African Americans and other American minorities in entertainment. They were created by the Black Entertainment Television network in 2001 to cover acting, music, sports, and other genres of entertainment. The BET Awards are broadcast live each year on the BET network. The show features performances by music artists and the presentation of awards. The BET award was designed by sculptor and artist Carlos "Mare139" Rodriguez and was inspired by the three words - aspire, ascend, achieve. The first award trophy designed by Carlos was presented to OutKast in 2001.
Interesting BET Awards Facts:
The first BET Awards ceremony was held at the Paris Las Vegas in 2001. This resort is located on the Las Vegas Strip.
From 2002 to 2005 the BET Awards were held at Hollywood's Kodak Theatre.
The BET Awards were held at Los Angeles' Shrine Auditorium from 2006 to 2012.
In 2013 the BET Awards were moved to Los Angeles' Microsoft Theatre.
Hosts of the BET Awards have included Steve Harvey and Cedric the Entertainer, Mo'Nique, Will and Jada Smith, Damon Wayons, Jamie Foxx, Queen Latifah, Kevin Hart, Samuel L. Jackson, Chris Tucker, Chris Rock, Anthony Anderson, and Leslie Jones.
Winners of the BET Awards are determined by approximately 500 members of the voting academy. These members include professionals from the media, music industry and bloggers.
Until 2017 there was a BET International award given to an artist from Africa and one to an artist from the UK. The UK award has now been changed to the Europe award.
The BET FANdemonium Award was retired in 2016.
Award categories for the BET Awards include Album, Hip-Hop, Gospel, R&B, Group, New Artist, Collaboration, Music Video, Music Video Director, Centric Award, Viewer's Choice Award, Movie, Male and Female Actor, Male and Female Sport, and International Viewer's Choice Award.
BET Awards also give out a BET Lifetime Achievement Award to a group or veteran artist. A tribute is performed by other popular artists who perform the honoree's music.
BET Lifetime Achievement Award recipients include Whitney Houston, Earth Wind & Fire, James Brown, The Isley Brothers, Gladys Knight, Chaka Khan, Diana Ross, Al Green, The O'Jays, Prince, Patti LaBelle, Maze Featuring Frankie Beverly, Charlie Wilson, Lionel Richie, Smokey Robinson, Samuel L. Jackson, New Edition, and Keith Sweat.
The BET Humanitarian Award has been given to Muhammad Ali, Magic Johnson, Danny Glover, Denzel Washington, Harry Belafonte, Don Cheadle, Quincy Jones, Alicia Keys and Wyclef Jean, John Legend, Steve Harvey, Rev. Al Sharpton, Dwyane Wade, Myrlie Evers-Williams, Tom Joyner, Jessie Williams, and Chance the Rapper.
Janet Jackson was awarded the Ultimate Icon Award in 2015 for her contributions to music, dance, and music videos.
The most BET wins as of 2017, in order of highest and descending, have been awarded to Beyonce (26), Chris Brown (14), Drake and Serena Williams (tied at 12), Nicki Minaj (11), and Kanye West (10).
Beyonce has had the most BET nominations, for her solo work and for her work as part of the group Destiny's Child.

Related Links:
Awards Facts
Animals Facts

Educational Videos